Carry On the Night

“Or if on joyful wing Cleaving the sky
Sun, moon, and stars forgot, Upward I fly…”
–Sarah F. Adams, “Nearer My God to Thee”

“Carry on, the night”
 
Carry on, the night
and without the stars
in this telestial blackened ruin.
But I will lie here and trace the constellations.
 
Carry on, the night
and without the moon
in this terrestrial lonely crater.
But I will sit here and pull the tides.
 
Carry on, the night
and without the sun
and the sure comfort of its gravity
Yet by casting shadows it decided
What I cannot and cannot see
 
No, I will stand here.
In the crushing darkness, full and mighty and without stars.
I will stand.
I will be the light.
Waiting for the Light.
So carry on, the night.
 

Leave a Reply

