Waiting

There is nothing cold distance can teach me

except to see in the dark.

There is nothing mourning can teach me

except to sit in a tomb and wait

for I know not what.

There is nothing that love can teach me

except that other things outside myself exist,

and will outlive me.

There is nothing that women can teach me

except to under- and over- estimate what it means

to be a man.

There is nothing my friends can teach me

except that the price of intimacy is never fairly negotiated

and always fluctuates with the market.

There is nothing children can teach me

except to grow multiple hearts in my chest in

various stages of cardiac entropy.

There is nothing God can teach me

except to become expert in hiding in plain sight.

There is nothing my pain can teach me

except that I am its committed lover, faithful for eternity.

Leave a Reply

